Clinical Key E-books
Clinical Key E-books are only available to ākonga/students studying in and kaimahi teaching in the Nursing programme. Nursing ākonga will be shown how to access these e-books by their Subject Librarian, Dipti Vora.
E-books at Unitec
Unitec Library subscribes to a wide range of e-books from several different suppliers, including:
An e-book is a book that you can read on your computer or device in full, 24/7 wherever you have an Internet connection. All you need is your Unitec user name and password and maybe an Adobe Digital Edition account if you wish to download ebooks.
Check out some recent e-book purchases
A comprehensive approach to design that integrates sustainable principles and design strategies for decarbonized construction Representing an international collaboration between academics and architects in the United States and Europe Carbon: A Field Manual for Designers and Builders offers professionals in the field an approach to sustainable design that embraces building science principles, life-cycle analysis, and design strategies in carbon neutral construction. The book also contains background information on carbon in construction materials and in the building design process. This book is filled with illustrative diagrams and drawings that help evaluate the potential impact of design decisions for creating carbon emissions. Written by and for designers and builders, the book includes a compelling pair of case studies that explore carbon-reducing strategies, suggests steps for assessing a building's carbon footprint, and reviews carbon storages and circulation of materials. The guidelines detailed in the book can be adopted, replicated, and deployed to reduce carbon emissions and create more sustainable buildings. This important book: Offers an effective approach to sustainable design in construction Integrates building science principles, life-cycle analysis, and design strategies in carbon neutral construction Describes a methodology for quantifying the flow of carbon in the built environment Provides an analysis of carbon-reducing strategies based on a case study of a building designed by the author. Written for practicing professionals in architecture and construction, Carbon: A Field Guide for Designers and Builders is a must-have resource for professionals who are dedicated to creating sustainable projects.
A richly illustrated guide to the astonishing variety of beetles around the world Beetles make up about a quarter of known animal species and are arguably the most diverse group of organisms on Earth: almost 400,000 species have been formally described so far, and it is likely that this number merely scratches the surface. In Beetles of the World, Maxwell Barclay and Patrice Bouchard--two of the world's foremost beetle experts--celebrate these remarkable creatures in all their variety, from their size and appearance to their ecological importance. Providing concise accounts of all the major families and subfamilies of Coleoptera, Beetles of the World explores beetle anatomy, life cycle, fossil history, feeding habits, role in the food web, habitats, relationship with humans, and classification--as well as the essential part that beetles play in the global ecosystem, and the ways humans can help protect them. Features 300 stunning color photographs Presents family profiles with a distribution map, table of information, and commentary Includes a comprehensive introduction that provides insight into the astonishing diversity of beetles and their histories
The Michael Chekhov Handbook is a practical guide to Chekhov's supportive techniques for actors, fully updated with new exercises that examine the relationship between the sensations of the physical body and the imagination. Lenard Petit draws on 25 years of teaching experience to unlock and illuminate Michael Chekhov's philosophy, and offers guiding principles and effective tools that actors can apply in rehearsal and performance. The second edition focuses on the building blocks of drama and an exploration of the five senses as an expressive springboard, with a new section on the function of the Archetype in the Chekhov method. Theory and practice are treated here with clarity and simplicity. Dedicated to students and teachers of acting, The Michael Chekhov Handbook provides readers with the essential tools they need to put the rewarding principles of this technique into use.
Radiography of the Dog and Cat A convenient and authoritative quick-reference guide to help you get the most from radiography of dogs and cats. In the newly revised second edition of Radiography of the Dog and Cat: Guide to Making and Interpreting Radiographs, the authors deliver a thorough update to a celebrated reference manual for all veterinary personnel, student to specialist, involved with canine and feline radiography. The book takes a straightforward approach to the fundamentals of radiography and provides easy-to-follow explanations of key points and concepts. Hundreds of new images have been added covering normal radiographic anatomy and numerous diseases and disorders. Readers of the book will also find: An expanded positioning guide along with images of properly positioned radiographs. Numerous examples of radiographic artifacts with explanations of their causes and remedies. Detailed explanations of many contrast radiography procedures, including indications, contraindications, and common pitfalls. Comprehensive treatments of Musculoskeletal, Thoracic, and Abdominal body parts, including both normal and abnormal radiographic appearances and variations in body types. Perfect for veterinary practitioners and students, the second edition of Radiography of the Dog and Cat: Guide to Making and Interpreting Radiographs is also a valuable handbook for veterinary technical staff seeking a one-stop reference for dog and cat radiography.
Design your own sustainable home Many people dream of building a beautiful, environmentally friendly home. But until now there has been no systematic guide to help potential builders work through the complete process of imagining, planning, designing, and building their ideal, sustainable home. Essential Sustainable Home Design walks potential homebuilders through the process starting with key concepts, principles, and a project vision that will guide the house to completion. Coverage includes: How to clarify your ideas and create a practical pathway to achieving your dream A criteria matrix to guide design, material, and systems decisions Creating a strong, integrated design team and working with professionals and code officials to keep the project on track from start to finish. Key building science concepts that make for a high-performance, durable building Primer on building logistics, material sourcing, and protocols to ensure that the initial vision for the project comes to fruition. One-page summaries and ratings of popular sustainable building materials and system options. Ideal for owner-builders and sustainable building contractors working with clients aiming to design and build a sustainable home. Chris Magwood has designed and built some of the most innovative, sustainable buildings in North America, including the first off-grid, straw bale home in Ontario. He is co-founder and director the Endeavour Centre for Innovative Building and Living and co-editor of the Sustainable Building Essentials series. Chris is the author of Essential Prefab Straw Bale Construction, Essential Hempcrete Construction, Straw Bale Details, More Straw Bale Building , and Making Better Buildings .
ARCHITECTURE THE GOLD STANDARD IN INTRODUCTORY ARCHITECTURE TEXTS, FULLY UPDATED TO REFLECT THE LATEST DEVELOPMENTS IN THE FIELD For more than forty years, the beautifully illustrated Architecture: Form, Space, and Order has served as the classic introduction to the basic vocabulary of architectural design. In this fifth edition, more recent additions to the architectural panoply illustrate how contemporary digital and building technologies have influenced the development of architectural forms and spaces and how architectural siting and design have responded to the call for more environmentally responsible buildings. It is designed to encourage critical thought and to promote a more evocative understanding of architecture. The fifth edition is updated with many new urban design and building precedents from a diverse range of cultural and geographic areas New content focuses on the latest technology and trends in structure, construction, materials, and sustainability Includes more than 800 illustrations, many hand-drawn, which demonstrate the foundations and concepts every architect must master Architecture: Form, Space, and Order distills complex concepts of design into a clear focus and brings difficult abstractions to life. It explains form and space in relation to light, view, openings, and enclosures and explores the organization of space, and the elements and relationships of circulation, as well as proportion and scale. In addition, the text's detailed illustrations demonstrate the concepts presented and reveal the relationships between fundamental elements of architecture through the ages and across cultures.
Explore this guide to:
Why use e-books?
The benefits of using eBooks are: