Subject & Study Guides: Health & Social Development: Databases

eTV Database

ETV This link opens in a new window ETV records TV programmes daily from over 40 Freeview, SKY and International Channels. Subscription gives unlimited access to these and to the back-catalogue of over 100,000 TV Recordings. First-time users must register: for details on how to register go to ETV Guide.
- This link opens in a new window

Databases

These are some useful databases when searching for Health & Social Development

Health and Wellness [Gale] This link opens in a new window Gale Health and Wellness offers access to thousands of full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices, and more.
- This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints [Gale in Context] This link opens in a new window Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to violent video games. Opposing Viewpoints in Context is cross-curricular and supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed, differing views present each side of an issue and help students develop information literacy, critical thinking skills, and how to draw their own valid conclusions.
- This link opens in a new window
Informit Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ebsco social practice databases [Ebsco] This link opens in a new window Social practice related Ebsco databases which can be searched together, including SocIndex: coverage from all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies
- This link opens in a new window

Free open access journals

Open access publications are freely and permanently available online to anyone with an internet connection. Unrestricted use, distribution and reproduction in any medium is permitted, provided the author/editor is properly attributed.

JAMA - Journal of American Medical Association
JAMA is an international peer-reviewed general medical journal.
BMJ - British Medical Journal research papers
Provides full text health related articles after 36 months.
Pacific Health Dialog
Is the Journal of Community Health and Clinical Medicine for the Pacific Region is the only Medline listed medical and public health journal published specifically for Pacific island countries.
SAGE Health & Articles
SAGE is an international, leading publisher of over 50 highly-read and cited journals in the health and nursing discipline
Pacific Peoples Health
Pacific Peoples Health is a FREE Publication targeting Pacific people in New Zealand. Educating and informing Pacific health service users, it is New Zealand's only publication dedicated solely to Pacific people's health.

Library Knowledge Specialist

Dipti Vora

Contact:

dvora@unitec.ac.nz

Phone: 8928602

Subjects: Community Studies, Healthcare and Social Practice