Subject & Study Guides: Art and Design: Websites

Websites

Moana Fresh
Moana Fresh is a marketplace and community space celebrating Pacific and Māori artists, creatives and authors indigenous to Moana Nui a Kiwa
Tautai Contemporary Pacific Arts Trust
Tautai Contemporary Pacific Arts Trust is Aotearoa’s premiere Pacific arts organisation with a multidisciplinary focus
Te Papa Tongarewa
The Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa is New Zealand's national museum and is located in Wellington
National Library of New Zealand
The National Library of New Zealand is here to help you access and use the collective knowledge of the nation
New Zealand Museums
A site for you to explore New Zealand museums, art galleries, cultural organisations and their collections
New Zealand Fashion Museum
The New Zealand Fashion Museum is for anyone with a love of fashion, heritage, innovation and creativity
New Zealand Maritime Museum
Find out more about the harbour sailings, collection, exhibitions, events and galleries
The Journal of the Polynesian Society
Founded in 1892, the Society’s aim was the scholarly study of past and present New Zealand Māori and other Pacific Island peoples and cultures
Auckland War Memorial Museum
The Auckland War Memorial Museum Tāmaki Paenga Hira is one of New Zealand's most important museums and war memorials
MOTAT - Museum of Transport and Technology
Science and technology museum located in Western Springs, Auckland, New Zealand
Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki
Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki is the largest art institution in New Zealand, with a collection numbering over 15000 work
Te Ipukarea Research Institute
The main focus of Te Ipukarea's research is Māori language, culture, and knowledge
Ngā Pae o te Māramatanga
New Zealand's Māori Centre of Research Excellence (CoRE) funded by the Tertiary Education Commission (TEC) and hosted by The University of Auckland
The Alexander Turnbull Library
The Alexander Turnbull Library holds New Zealand’s national documentary heritage collections
Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand
It is a comprehensive guide to the country’s peoples, natural environment, history, culture, economy, institutions and society

Digital collections

Digital NZ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search across more than 28 million digital items to discover New Zealand treasures such as amazing aerial photos, posters and memorabilia, newspaper clippings, artworks, and publications. Items are contributed from partners including Te Papa, the Alexander Turnbull Library, Auckland Art Gallery, Te Ara, NZ On Screen and many many more.
Timeframes This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Timeframes includes selected New Zealand and Pacific images from the collections of the Alexander Turnbull Library, the research library within the National Library of New Zealand.
Images of New Zealand and the Pacific from the Alexander Turnbull Library (the research library within the National Library of New Zealand). Collections cover the social and natural history of New Zealand, the Pacific and Antarctica from the earliest European contact to the present. Also manuscripts, sheet music, maps, sound recordings, ephemera, photographs, cartoons, paintings, drawings and prints.
VADS : online resource for visual arts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
VADS is the online resource for visual arts. It has provided services to the academic community for 12 years and has built up a considerable portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in learning, teaching and research in the UK.
NZETC (New Zealand Electronic Text Centre) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The New Zealand Electronic Text Collection comprises significant New Zealand and Pacific Island texts and materials held by Victoria University of Wellington Library. This encompasses both digitised heritage material and born-digital resources.